Showing posts with label ocean. Show all posts
Showing posts with label ocean. Show all posts

Monday, July 10, 2017

[Review] Last Seen - Lucy Clarke: Seaside Towns and Disappearances

In LAST SEEN, seven years ago the sons of best friends Sarah and Isla disappeared, only one of them returned, and on the anniversary of the tragedy, the other one disappears.

What intrigued me: Was in the mood for a thriller.

Beautiful Writing

LAST SEEN is a very character-driven, super slow book. It's essentially a psychological, a little dark drama involving family secrets. Clarke's writing is beautiful and lyrical, reminds me a lot of Brunonia Barry's actually, which is definitely a compliment. 

There is something dreamy and magical about the way she paints this seaside town and the prose absolutely creates an uncanny atmosphere that makes LAST SEEN very unique. 

I struggled a lot with LAST SEEN, a lot of the plot is reliant on you listening carefully when backstories get unravelled one by one, and I just couldn't bring up enough of an attention span for the dozens of flashbacks and monologues. Unfortunately, this is one of those subjective things that inevitably always make me lose interest in books. I was looking for something more fast-paced, and this is absolutely not what LAST SEEN is. Regardless, the mystery at the core of the story surely is interesting and I do see a lot of people enjoying this, but subjectively, it wasn't my thing.

Very Character-Driven

I guess you have to have a knick for Adult fiction that's more on the women's fiction side than the thriller side to enjoy this, which is certainly not a bad thing. Especially because of the multiple POVs I struggled to establish the very essential connection to the protagonists that you inevitably need to even remotely care for the story. 

I just wasn't invested in Isla's or Sarah's struggles. I really, really deeply struggled to empathize with their friendship and their worries. A lot of the story is spent establishing how their friendship developed in the wake of the tragedies and you have to truly care about that in order to like LAST SEEN. It's more family drama and women's fiction than thriller. Maybe I was in the wrong mood when I picked this up, maybe it's just not my thing. 


Rating:

★★★☆☆

 



Overall: Do I Recommend?

LAST SEEN is a beautifully written character-driven mystery set in a dreamy seaside town and I'm sure a lot of people will love this. This had a lot of things that I subjectively don't like in my thrillers, so this wasn't really for me.



Additional Info

Published: June 2017
Pages: 416
Publisher: Piper
Genre: Adult / Thriller
ISBN: 978-3-492-06027-1

Synopsis:
"In a small seaside community, there’s always somebody watching…

Twisty, pacy, and superbly plotted, Last Seen is the perfect psychological page-turner for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Sabine Durrant.

Seven years ago, two boys went missing at sea – and only one was brought to shore. The Sandbank, a remote stretch of coast dotted with beach huts, was scarred forever.

Sarah’s son survived, but on the anniversary of the accident, he disappears without trace. As new secrets begin to surface, The Sandbank hums with tension and unanswered questions. Sarah’s search grows more desperate and she starts to mistrust everyone she knows – and she’s right to.

Someone saw everything on that fateful day seven years ago. And they’ll do anything to keep the truth buried."
(Source: Goodreads)

What's your favorite thriller?



Connect with me!

Continue Reading...

Monday, November 24, 2014

[Review] Wake (Watersong #1) - Amanda Hocking: Mary Sues and Predictability

In WAKE, Gemma gets involved with three creepy girls that are obviously up to something. Little does she know they're supernatural creatures. Also murderers.

What intrigued me: I love mermaids. I just do, always have, always will. Naturally, when I spied this in a sale, I had to go get it.


Not daring enough

WAKE takes place in the town of Capri, a village by the sea that never has anything interesting going on. There are sailors and people hang out in the park a lot. A typical YA setting. The main character Gemma is obsessed with swimming and is currently training for the Olympics when they notice that three strange new girls are creeping around town.

The plot is probably the biggest problem I had with WAKE. Hocking managed to make the topic of mermaids so boring and uninteresting that even I, as a complete nut for that topic skimmed the last 30 pages. It's a fairly thin novel so it's even worse to say that. WAKE heavily builds on Gemma's relationship with Harper, her older sister. They both get involved with boys throughout the novel and their relationships to them have neither chemistry nor are portrayed realistically. Gemma actually had fallen in love with the boy before the events in the novel, which just makes it even harder for the reader to understand why and what she is feeling. But this might just be a pet peeve of mine.

Most of the time I was secondhand embarassed for the stupid conversations they have. Talk about secondhand embarassment - her mom that lives in a group home after a brain injury going on and on about Justin Bieber was even worse. I just - there's not even a single character that I cared about. The mermaids just appear whenever it's convenient leading to pages and pages of information dump when Hocking got bored writing about Gemma and love interest Alex.

Rating: 

☆☆☆☆


Synopsis:

"Fall under the spell of Wake—the first book in an achingly beautiful new series by celebrated author Amanda Hocking—and lose yourself to the Watersong.

Gorgeous. Fearless. Dangerous. They're the kind of girls you envy; the kind of girls you want to hate. Strangers in town for the summer, Penn, Lexi and Thea have caught everyone's attention—but it’s Gemma who’s attracted theirs. She’s the one they’ve chosen to be part of their group.

Gemma seems to have it all—she’s carefree, pretty, and falling in love with Alex, the boy next door. He’s always been just a friend, but this summer they’ve taken their relationship to the next level, and now there’s no going back. Then one night, Gemma’s ordinary life changes forever. She’s taking a late night swim under the stars when she finds Penn, Lexi and Thea partying on the cove. They invite her to join them, and the next morning she wakes up on the beach feeling groggy and sick, knowing something is different.

Suddenly Gemma is stronger, faster, and more beautiful than ever. But her new powers come with a terrifying price. And as she uncovers the truth, she’s is forced to choose between staying with those she loves—or entering a new world brimming with dark hungers and unimaginable secrets."

Continue Reading...
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...